Faq

What is OpenFood?

OpenFood is an open, freely accessible database on barcoded food products. Importantly, OpenFood is accesisble through a high-performing API, ensuring that it can be used easily as a data source in web and phone applications. OpenFood is currently limited to Switzerland, but plans to eventually expand to other countries.

How does OpenFood guarantee the accuracy of the data?

OpenFood shows data that is on the package of the product, by default. Any data in the OpenFood database that does is not on the product package is clearly labelled as such, and the corresponding source of the data is provided. For these reasons, OpenFood itself cannot give any guarantee of the accuracy of the data. We make our best efforts to accurately reflect the data as it is found on the package or on other sources.

How does OpenFood collect data?

OpenFood collects data in two ways - either on its own, or through the community. We work together with food distributors who volunteer to provide access to their stores, where we send volunteers to take pictures of the products. We then digitize these pictures. Further, we ask the community to provide information about missing products, or missing data of existing products, to the database, either through the OpenFood smartphone app, or through the community section on our website.

Who is behind OpenFood?

OpenFood is a project initiated by the Digital Epidemiology Lab of EPFL. It is funded by the Kristian Gerhard Jebsen Foundation.

What is the goal of OpenFood?

OpenFood is built on the premise that free open data accelerates innovation. We live in the age of data, and most projects would not be possible anymore without access to data. So many innovative ideas never see the light of day because they require data that is not digitized, or not accessible, or both, and when it comes to food and nutrition, we find this unacceptable. The Digital Epidemiology Lab also uses OpenFood data for its own projects. As the saying goes, we eat our own dogfood.

Why are there no health recommendations?

OpenFood is a neutral data source - we don’t want to make any health recommendations. We invite third parties to use the OpenFood data to build projects, websites, apps etc. and they are of course free to make such recommendations. OpenFood itself will remain a neutral data provider.

Why an API? Can you just give me a data dump of all the data?

The OpenFood data is continually evolving, and errors in data are being corrected all the time. Since we provide a high-performing API, there is no benefit in providing a data dump that would be outdated immediately after being created. The benefits of an API are numerous. In particular, it allows developers to build OpenFood into their applications with the guarantee to always have the latest data available. You can find more information about the API here. If you are a developer, we highly recommend subscribing to our API developer newsletter.

How can I contribute?

If you want to contribute to OpenFood, please head to the Community page where you can help us improve the data quality. If you are interested to bringing OpenFood into your country, please contact us at info@openfood.ch

I have more questions - who can I contact?

If you have general questions about OpenFood, please contact us diretcly at info@openfood.ch. If your question is of technical nature relating to the API, please contact us (in English) at api@openfood.ch.

Faq

Qu'est-ce que OpenFood ?

OpenFood est une base de données contenant les produits alimentaires à codes-barres. Elle est ouverte à tous, gratuitement. Fait important, OpenFood est accessible via une API performante. Nous veillons à ce qu'elle puisse être utilisée facilement comme source de données pour les applications Web et téléphoniques. OpenFood est actuellement limité à la Suisse mais prévoit de se développer dans d'autres pays.

Comment OpenFood garantit-il l'exactitude des données ?

OpenFood affiche les données qui se trouvent sur le paquet du produit, par défaut. Toute donnée dans la base de données OpenFood qui ne figure pas sur le packaging du produit est clairement identifiée comme telle et la source correspondante est fournie. Pour ces raisons, OpenFood lui-même ne garantit pas l'exactitude des données. Nous faisons de notre mieux pour refléter fidèlement les données telles que mentionnées sur le paquet ou sur d'autres sources.

Comment OpenFood collecte-t-il les données ?

OpenFood collecte les données de deux manières. Soit, nous travaillons avec des distributeurs de produits alimentaires qui mettent à disposition leurs magasins où nous envoyons des bénévoles pour prendre des photos des produits que nous numérisons par la suite. Soit, la communauté collabore activement à ce projet en fournissant des informations sur les produits non répertoriés ou les données manquantes des produits existants déjà dans la base de données. Pour ce faire, deux outils sont à disposition des consommateurs : l'application OpenFood pour smartphone ou la section communautaire de notre site.

Qui est derrière OpenFood ?

OpenFood est un projet lancé par le laboratoire d’épidémiologie de digitale de l’EPFL. Il est financé par la Fondation Kristian Gerhard Jebsen.

Quel est l'objectif d' OpenFood ?

OpenFood repose sur le postulat que les données ouvertes à tous accélèrent l'innovation. Nous vivons à l'ère du Big Data, et la plupart des projets ne seraient pas réalisables sans accès à cette immense source d’informations. Trop d'idées novatrices ne voient jamais la lumière du jour car elles nécessitent des données qui ne sont ni numérisées, ni accessibles, voire les deux. Et quand il s'agit de nourriture et de nutrition, nous trouvons cela inacceptable.

Pourquoi ne proposez-vous pas de recommandation sur la santé ?

OpenFood est une source de données neutre et doit le rester. Ce n’est pas notre propos de formuler des recommandations sur la santé. En revanche, nous vous encourageons à utiliser les données OpenFood pour créer des projets, des sites Web, des applications, etc. et vous êtes alors bien sûr libres de faire de telles recommandations.

Pourquoi une API ?

Les avantages d'une API sont nombreux. En particulier, cet outil permet aux développeurs de créer OpenFood dans leurs applications avec la garantie de disposer toujours des dernières données disponibles. Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur l'API ici. Si vous êtes un développeur, nous vous recommandons vivement de vous inscrire à notre bulletin de développement API.

Pouvez-vous me communiquer toutes les données ?

Les données OpenFood évoluent continuellement et les éventuelles erreurs sont corrigées en permanence. Étant donné que nous fournissons une API performante, il n'y a aucun avantage à fournir les données sans passer par cet outil, le risque étant qu’elles soient alors immédiatement obsolètes.

Comment puis-je contribuer ?

Si vous souhaitez contribuer à OpenFood, rendez-vous sur la page de la communauté où vous pouvez nous aider à améliorer la qualité des données. Si vous souhaitez importer et développer OpenFood dans votre pays, contactez-nous à info@openfood.ch

J'ai plus de questions, qui puis-je contacter ?

Si vous avez des questions générales sur OpenFood, contactez-nous directement sur info@openfood.ch. Si vos demandes sont de nature technique relatives à l'API, contactez-nous (en anglais) sur api@openfood.ch.